DVD Alert - in the version of Doc Jensen's review of the series finale in the Entertainment Weekly double issue of June 4/11, he states: "The producers are planning to address some lingering mysteries with special content on the season 6 DVD (available in August). On the menu: Waaaaalt!"
Ok, now my Musings.
I have watched the The End twice now, parts 3 times. Every time I see something I missed...no doubt because of crying or note taking. Several things that struck me the last go 'round:
1. When the Jack's Island group first meets up with Smocke and Kate starts shooting, with no harm to him, Smocke smirks and tells her "she might want to save her bullets". I totally missed that the first time. So, when she later pops him one and says "I saved you a bullet...." well, HA! Take that, Smockey Boy.... gives it another layer of satisfaction.
2. The first time we see Jack's body after his return to the well of the Golden Light and turning on whatever Desmond turned off its at the waterfall pond, the same place, in the same position as was MIB's so long ago when discovered by brother Jacob. Only this time...we do see Jack start to move.
3. I so missed the connection that the reason Charlie was asleep backstage at the concert was because Hurley had shot him...and it must have been Hurley who left the note. Duh.
Now, as this has been churning in my brain, I do wonder why Jacob's sending his brother's body into the Golden Light Tunnel set loose the Monster, and why Desmond's going in and "unplugging" the Well destroyed it. Or whatever happened that made Smocke mortal again. But with further thought, I realized that no one knew what was going on. Sort of like real life. Not just philosophically, but pretty much everywhere. Humanity likes to think we are in control (our rules) but usually the joke's on us.
See Bill Bryson's A SHORT HISTORY OF NEARLY EVERYTHING, in which he attempts to understand "how we went from there being nothing at all to there being something, and then how a little of that something turned into us, and also what happened between and since." The simple (hah!) goal of his book is to capture the excitement of science and "to see if it isn't possible to understand and appreciate - marvel at, enjoy, even - the wonder and accomplishments of science at a level that isn't too technical or demanding, but isn't entirely superficial, either." I think he does a darn good job. So from the stars to the earth's core, from atoms to quarks, supervocanoes to ice ages, he searches. I learned a lot...(most disturbing, in Chapter 15 "Dangerous Beauty", is that virtually all of Yellowstone Park is the worlds' largest Supervolcano...and is due to erupt again...!) but what struck me the most was how many times scientists say "we don't know why..." It's too much to go into here, but I started keeping track of all the things the experts can't explain and have over 25 page citations noted. My point... we don't know what's going on a lot of the time...we can make up rules, guidelines to help us navigate what we (think) we know, like wash your hands, don't run out into traffic, only you can prevent forest fires, be good to your elders, never tickle a sleeping dragon, you know...the basics. So, from Faux Mom to Jacob to Jack to Hurley they try to keep the balance between the Golden Light and The Smoke Monster as best they can.
I do have one little idea that came as I was writing...perhaps intent has something to do with it. When Jacob shoved MIB into the tunnel he was full of anger and rage... when Desmond and later Jack went in, they were trying to help, to heal. I need to mull this over a bit.
So...besides reading the Bryson book, what to do now with all this "after LOST is over" time?
Well, here are a couple of immediate ideas:
First, this Thursday, 2 great shows on the USA Network start their new seasons, BURN NOTICE and ROYAL PAINS. You can catch up with them on their marathons this week...or catch up at the USA website http://www.usanetwork.com/index.html
Second, TOY STORY 3 is coming out on June 18th!!!! I am so excited I could burst. I adore the first two films... Leonard Maltin describes them "a grown-up story masquerading as a kid's film, ...[a] story of friendship, fickleness, and the need for acceptance..." and its sequel is one of the few times a TWO lived up to and topped the original. If you were ever a child and had a favorite toy, you will love these films. They tap the heart of being a child, the fears of childhood we carry with us at any age, the longings for a home and friends, in much the same way as the classic The Wizard of Oz. And besides, how can you resist Mr. and Mrs Potato Head!?!?!? I know I am going to watch the first 2 again in preparation...if you haven't seen them, wow, what a treat awaits you!!!!
Ok, that should keep you going for a while... until later, Dudes.
Namaste, Yinz
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment