I will just come out off the bat and say I think this was one of the best ever episodes in a great series. So much to ponder.
First, Rose. So, my suspicions were correct, NOT crashing didn't turn out so great for her. She does still have terminal cancer. I also want to comment on something said by the ladies at the Washington Post Blog. They made the statement "And similarly, Rose circa "Walkabout" seemed like she was living in a dream world, insisting her husband was still alive despite what appeared to be all evidence to the contrary. In tonight's episode, she was the realist...." But remember, She Was Right about her husband being alive! She wasn't living in a dream world, she had faith, based on what? Maybe, its just, who cares. She was right.
Second big time question is who was that boy!?!?! At first I was sure it was Jacob, mostly because of how completely it spooked Smocke. I mean it seemed he just forgot to off Richard. He also lied about seeing him again to Sawyer AND seemed subordinate to him when reminded about the rules. But then, wouldn't you know, those WP ladies brought up the possiblitiy it might be...Aaron! At first I was ARE YOU NUTS? But then (there is usually a "but then" with this show) I thought of something I saw in the repeat showing of last week's episode. When they showed Sawyer digging out the box of momentos in his Dharma house the legend at the bottom talked about it having been there for over 30 years. Now, they said Sawyer and co. left in 1977, and I believe they jumped to 2007. But if they didn't land in 2004 like the Sideways timeline (or as I like to call it - ALTS) then, hey, maybe its 2015! I mean, I always believed Aaron was meant to be on that island for so many reasons. I will definitely have to think about this one.
Third, I don't believe for a minute that Smocke is the good Island Beach Man. I pretty much think Sawyer doesn't buy his act, either. I would think that Sawyer can smell a con pretty easily - he sure spotted faux Locke without any trouble. I loved that both Sawyer and Smocke lied to each other in the jungle, Sawyer about Richard and Smocke about The Boy. I think they each knew the other was lying. What fun!
Fourth, even watching it twice in one evening I missed the photo of Locke and his father in his cubicle, so thanks to the WP Blog for the link. (they seem to have really upped their game this season.) So, that really would be a huge change - Locke and Pop as Buds.
Fifth, speaking of changes. Holy SAT's Batman, Ben Linus for European History!?!?!?
Sixth, I am in the camp that says that cave is Smocke's not Jacob's. Jacob has a very nice place in The Statue, thank you, with no dangerous decrepit ladders to worry about. If Smocke feels trapped, wouldn't HE be the one looking for replacements? And is it just me but I can't believe it's random that Jack's number, Shephard 23, doesn't relate to the 23rd Psalm...The Lord is my shepherd, etc. Oh, you want me to tell you what it means? Like I know.
And while I agree with Lapidus (how do I love thee...) about that funeral, oh my goodness, I laughed, I cried, it was better than Cats.
And, the title of this episode. Thought it just referred to Smocke taking over Locke...but surprise! It's Locke's new job, too. Good one.
And I am so glad that Ilana will be moving Sun in Jin's direction...of course now Jin may not get back to the Temple if Crazy Claire gets in the way. Oi Vay! Also, I don't know what she meant by Smocke being stuck with his new face. It has me grappling with the notion that MIB was taking on the appearance of Claire, Kate's horse, Christian, etc. But if he can't change appearances that way... were those Jacob? I have to really chew on this for a while.
Ok, that's all my brain can process for now.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment