Wednesday, March 31, 2010

The Package, 6.10, Short Take

Well, three cheers to Melissa - her Constant has returned!  See, it wasn't too good to be true that Desmond was the "?" in the locked room on Widmore's sub.  But, those previews for next week were more than just a tad ominous.  I mean, "Amazing Grace" playing on bagpipes...seeing Desmond's face briefly while the voice of Charles Widmore repeats Mrs. Hawkings infamous "the Island isn't done with you, yet."  Yikes!!!!!  could HE be the new Jacob? 

This was another extraordinary show.  Broken record, but I have to call 'em like I see 'em.   Loved the scene in Ilana's camp just as Richard returns; one great character moment after another, Lapidus, Miles, Ben, Hurley.

Yeah, Patchy was back and boy does he clean up nice!  Indiana Jones said it best:  It's not the years, honey, it's the mileage.  And I love a man with milelage.  Sorry to see him come to such a bad end... well, I thought he was dead but it was suggested I am wrong...and on a second viewing I realized that even Keamy wasn't dead at the end of the scene in the restaurant kitchen, so who knows.  Interesting that a pro like Sayid didn't check on that. 

Interesting to watch Smocke try to be nice to Sun...loved that she would have none of it.  His faux reasoning that because he gave the people at the Temple the choice: "I didn't want to kill them, any one of them could have chosen to come with me..."    So it's not his fault...he's not bad...  Oh, Pa-Leeze.  But I do wonder, once Sun was knocked out why he didn't just take her away?  Does choice, free will, play a role in his escape?  But how is it truly free will with all his deceptions?

Now, with so many people playing each other I have no idea who to trust, who is on the side of "good" or who knows what.  Smocke tells Sawyer he's going to Hydra to rescue Jin because they took one of his people...like he would care if it wasn't one of the Names on the Wall.   The little exchange Smocke about the locked room on the Sub with Sawyer on his return (sans Sayid) from Hydra sent a little chill up my spine..and Sawyer's too, I think.  Smocke confirms that Sawyer said he was never shown what was in it (true, right?) yet he says "I don't like secrets"... and I wonder, did Widmore show him?  Nah, can't be.  Did Widmore tell him that he told Sawyer?  Why would he, just to stir the pot in Smocke camp?  Sawyer really thought Widmore would kill Smocke and if he didn't "we're screwed 6 ways to Sunday".   Oh, and why did Smocke ask Sayid if he could swim?  They were going to Hydra via an outrigger...so he knew Sayid was going to have to spend some quality time in the water...watching...  so again, what did he know?  Does he know what it is about Desmond that can defeat him? 

 And don't even get me started on the Claire/Kate Smackdown to come.  Smocke has been doing such a dance with them...but the looks Clair keeps sending his way makes me wonder, just a bit, if she is crazy enough to see right through him.  Even he might not fair so well if her wrath is unleashed on him. 

OK, its late and I have to go...but I want to state that this show just made me more convinced that Ji Yeon is a key, that she may be THE Kwon.  She was meant to be born on the Island... 

Namaste, Yinz

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Russell Gets His Star

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

From OnTheRedCarpet.com:
Russell Crowe to receive Hollywood Star in April
Monday, March 29, 2010
Posted by Corinne Heller at 11:14:59 AM

If there was any doubt before, there won't be soon: Russell Crowe is officially a star, as he is set to receive one on Hollywood's Walk of Fame on [Monday] April 12.

The New Zealand-born actor is best known for his Oscar-winning performance in the 2000 film Gladiator and his role in A Beautiful Mind in 2001. Talk show host Jay Leno and actor and director Ron Howard are set to be guest speakers at Crowe's award ceremony, the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce said on Monday.

Friday, March 26, 2010

Ab Aeterno 6.9 Lost Lunch Report

Sorry for the delay but your intrepid reporter had to do some research before returning to share  yesterday's big event.  A large turnout including, as far as I know, the historic presence of TWO, yes TWO men, our long time attendee Bryan and newcomer Craig.  Also there were Athina, Carol, Lisa, Melissa, Laura, Phyllis, and Kristina. (I hope I got everyone, there was some coming and going....)   I admit the enthusiasm and passion made it difficult for me to keep up but I gave it my best shot.

One of the recaps that was discussed, and I admit previously unkonwn to me, was at FANCAST by Tracy Phillips at http://www.fancast.com/blogs/2010/tv-news/lost-recap-ab-aeterno/   It has some interesting takes on the episode that generated a lot of discussion and is worth a look.  But one struck me and I had to check out.  The idea, though very fun at first read, that the 2 bodies Kate and Sawyer found in the waterfall cove back in Season One, Episode 12, could be Amelia Earhart and Fred Noonan is so not possible.  Yes, I went back and watched it last night.  First, both bodies still have flesh and clothing on them, which would seem impossible after 67 years!  Second, they seem to be in passenger seats, not cockpit chairs, and lastly, stuck underneath their seat is the metal briefcase that Kate is obsessed with retrieving through the entire episode.  It contains a treasured momento  - the small toy plane - that symbolizes her lost love.  So, nice try, but NO.  Now, could they be the bodies in the cave where Jack found fresh water? 

That's more of a possibility - I watched that scene, too last night.  (I know, I spare nothing for you and LOST!)  Jack finds the cave in the famous White Rabbit, Epidsode 6 of Season One.  Its amazing to watch now, watching him chase after his father, and being guided by Locke to take command of the survivors.  Yes, Jack is encouraged by Locke to lead.  When he asks Locke how the people are, Locke answers "Thirsty, hungry, and looking for someone to tell them what to do."  Holy tie-in, Batman, I thought of Jacob's saying he wanted people to come and be good without him having to step in, and Richard pointing out the obvious that if he doesn't guide them they will look to someone else...someone or something a bit more...dark, n'est pas?  This is also the episode where Locke says "I have looked into the eye of the Island and what I saw was beautiful."  At the end of this episode, Jack comes back to the beach and takes command, gets people to start working together.  Lots to consider here - just who was guiding whom, is Christian a version of Jacob, was Locke already on the MIB recruitment squad?  But I will leave that now. 

Its the next episode, #7, when they actually go into the cave and discover the bodies. I was much surprised to find my memory in error, that they are near each other, not side by side. Jack says that they had to be there for 40 - 50 years for the clothing to be so degraded.  Granted that's a guesstimate, but it still seems to fit them being Rose and Bernard, left back in 1977, they could have lived another 20 years.  I was looking primarily to see if there were a shot of those pesky black and white stones.  Yes, as Jack is looking over the first body he found, he pulls off a small leather bag and out come the stones, but they appear much shinier and smaller than the white one Jacob gave MIB.  So, put that in our box of mysteries.  Curiously, when Locke comes into the cave he asks who Jack thinks the men might have been, but Jack says no, one body is a female.  Locke then says "our very own Adam and Eve".

OK, Lunch.  I started by asking if we could all agree that the response to this episode was WOW!!!  No one contradicted and the motion passed. 

I brought up the importance of the great Jacob/Richard conversation on the beach and THE MOMENT when Richard pointed out the flaw in Jacob's thinking of non-involvement.  What  a great look on Jacob's face...talk about the light dawning.  Also, it means Jacob LEARNED from a mere human.  I don't begin to know yet what Jacob is...but he certainly had his teachable moment.

The other wonderful moment...Hurley appearing out of the jungle when all thought it was going to be MIB.

Lots of discussion on the nature of MIB and Jacob and is it only MIB who can take on other forms?  Can Jacob?  We know that the Isabella who appeared in the Black Rock to Richard was most likely (ok, I feel certain anyway) MIB doing a sick mind manipulation number on Richard.  Lisa brought up the idea that Jacob may also be able to take on other forms (the rather prominant butterfly that appeared in the Black Rock with Richard was pointed out) was kicked around. Might he have been Kate's horse, and possibly VINCENT!?!?!?!   OK, you know how I feel about Vincent... (what's DOG backwards?) so tread lightly.  I just want to point out that Vincent spent a lot of time off the Island (or did Jacob do to him what MIB did to Lockes body - oh no!!!) so I think its a long shot, but........   Also discussion on whether Jacob literally took over MIB's body (Craig's theory) or just took it from him and destroyed it so he couldn't leave. Melissa wondered if MIB was waiting for a special body - with certain qualities we don't yet know, maybe one where he can take over mind AND body;  the WILL, The Spirit inside that must be conquered.  Lisa brought up the question of WHO told Ben that Locke's body had to be on the plane for the gang to get back to the Island.  We felt it was Mrs. Hawking.  Oh, what side is she on?  Dharma, Others, MIB, Widmore, and just who and what ARE the sides? 

The instruction by MIB (told to Sayid by Dogen on his way to kill Smocke, too) to strike at Jacob before he has a chance to say anything made us wonder.  Craig felt its part of the game between them.  Though it just came to me...if that's all it took for Jacob to defeat Richard, why go to the trouble of going all kung fu fighter on him?  Lisa brought up the great scene of Jacob convincing Richard he wasn't dead by...trying to drown him!  We all concurred.  It was also pointed out that it was like a baptism; was it the "cleaning of the slate" that Jacob gave all the people he brought to the island?  I think it was also Lisa who brought up that Richard is not off the hook from the MIB.  He had been made to promise MIB "to do what I tell you"   - kill Jacob - to get his freedom, but Richard never fulfilled his promise.  So, are dire consequences coming? 

Carol said that this Jacob reminded her of the more human Jesus depicted in the musical Jesus Christ Superstar.  (see, we do cover a lot of ground.)  This raised a question from someone as to the difference between disciples (followers at anytime) and The Apostles - described as Jesus' BFF's.  Hmmm, sort of like the Others (disciples) and the Candidates, per chance? THEN we got into could MIB be Satan/Judas; although that horrible priest at Richard's prison certainly fit the Judas bill more, complete with the possible 30 pieces of silver from the first mate.  Here Phyllis brought up the discussion at the Washington Post Ladies Blog http://voices.washingtonpost.com/celebritology/2010/03/lost_dueling_analysis_ab_aeter.html (fast becoming my favorite, sorry Doc.) on the reference to Luke 23 - "Physician, heal thyself".  Jack's number is 23. Craig pointed out the irony of Locke, once  having been the man of faith (lost it when he was about to hang himself) is now the MIB; Jack, once the man of science is now the man of faith, demonstrated by his dynamite fuse burn with Richard.  Maybe when Smokey/MIB scoped out Locke back in Season 1 he got a sense of how he could be manipulated through his longing for faith, a place to belong, a home. Like seeing the  moves in a chess game far in advance to the point of checkmate, MIB saw how he could move Locke to get other pieces into position, namely, to ultimately stoke Ben's rage into killing Jacob. 

Who is MIB?  Who was he, I guess to be more precise.  All thought it is going to be a big shock moment when we find out. Candidates:  Michael, Walt, Cain, all we know is it BETTER NOT BE DESMOND!!!

Craig said he read on a blog that it is Aaron locked in the room on Widmore's sub. 

It was reported that a certain partner who is a fan of the show speculated about the scene with Isabella and Hurley and Richard.  We never see and or hear her say Richard must make sure the MIB never leaves, and that it made him suspicious.  Was it really Isabella who gave the instruction to Hurley, or could it have been Jacob? 

Bryan said he was just still confused, and I think we all agreed.  Someone brought up that Ben failed all his test's but  now appears on the road to a form of redemption.  I think he did finally pass a test when he didn't kill Ilana and chose to go with her and not return to Smocke and to power.

We ended this wild and spirited meeting of the minds with our usual question: WHERE IS DESMOND?

I hope I captured a little of the ideas that were flying around that room.  I think I was able to note about half or less of what was being thrown out.  If only I had one of those cool recording devices from the CIA or U.N.C.L.E.  So, I did the best I could.  I do recommend checking out the websites mentioned here and listed on the left side of the Blog's main page under the photo.  This episode generated a lot of material and I haven't gotten to read it all myself. 

I do still feel that Jacob, while not a god, is still the better side than MIB.  And I am still waiting for someone to remember that there is another Kwon out there!!!!    Ok, I have to go for now. 

Namaste, Yinz!

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Richard's Story, First Thoughts

Awesome, I was blown away.  OK, bye.

ha ha.  OK, I haven't had a chance to read any other recaps so this is where my head is at the moment:

It will take some time to sift through all the MIB v. Jacob material but my impression now is...  MIB is evil, Jacob is, at least, not a murderer and does seem to have the world's best interest in mind.  MIB is manipulative, Jacob is almost sinfully removed.  I think what struck me the most about MIB is that he let Richard lie in the hell of that ship, chained, starving, desperate, for days.  THEN he shows up with food, and releases him.  Then something fluttered in the back of my mind...this is what he did with Ben, too.  IF Ben was really getting direction from MIB in the cabin, not Jacob, and if MIB (as his return identity SMOCKE) manipulated Ben into killing Jacob, this seemed to be the same strategy that MIB used on Richard.  MIB had done his thing with the remaining crew (scoping them out to see who was the most vulnerable and killing them when they flunk his test) and then he comes to Richard in his smoke form.  He "sees" his anguish, his memories of Isabella, his desperation, and .... its showtime!  First sign he's a bit of a fibber...having Isabella tell Richard that he's dead and in hell!  After she goes he hears her screams.  THEN MIB makes his appearance in human form.  And uses Isabella as the bait to get Richard to kill Jacob.

Did anyone else notice a small black mark on the middle finger of MIB's  left hand?  I wonder if it was significant or just dirt?

Now, Jacob sure was a more, what shall I say, active fellow in this show.  Nice moves getting the jump on Richard.  I loved how Jacob proved Richard wasn't dead....  and note that he immediately gave him a blanket after his non-drowning, got him wine etc.  Now, I think Jacob's explanation of why he brought the ship a little vague - and are we to understand that the Black Rock crashed into the Statue and broke it into pieces?   The signature moment: when Jacob is going on about his little experiment, wanting people to act for the good and asking why he should step in?  Richard's simple, clear answer: "If you don't, he will."  Watch the look on Jacob's face.  He realizes his error in thinking, (well, DUH!) the penny has dropped, the light dawned...  Just amazing.  But I had the thought:  he reminds me of parents who say they don't believe in disciplining their children,  they want them to be good, just no use of  "No".  Yeah, right, they are the kids you NEVER want to visit!  Children, and people, need guidance, especially in hard situations like say, a shipwreck or a plane crash! 

As if this scene wasn't enough, we later get the fabulous moment when "current time" Richard is desperate once again, calling out in the jungle for the MIB to come, he's changed his mind and he wants another crack at that offer....  and HURLEY appears!!!  From there to when Richard puts the cross back on...Yes, I cried...oi vay, I was so vaklempt! 

Now, as I was watching earlied scene when MIB/Smoke Thing killed the crew, a question  LEAPED into my brain:  if the remaining crew all died how did the First Mate's Log get back to the outside world,  to the Hanso family, where at some point it was put up for auction and the clever Mr. Widmore bought it?  Hmmm?  THEN I had a crazy idea:  the log was found by the Others and stolen by Widmore when he was going to get tossed off by Ben.  He sold it to the Hanso family to get his stake to start up his company and eventual fortune...so he could then get it back.  Maybe he didn't realize its importance before he sold it. 

But, on the other hand....  Alvar Hanso probably had it, knew the Island had certain interesting properties and that's why he started up the Dharma Initiative.  Oh, but wait....those 2 theories may not be mutually exclusive...maybe Widmore sold the log to Hanso on one of his illicit off Island adventures. After all, maybe its Dharma/Widmore vs. Others/Ben.  Well, whatever, I think that darn Log is the key to something and I want to know how the heck it got off that Island!!!!

OK, one other little note is that obviously its not just being touched by Jacob that gets you a "gift" but that he has to WANT to give you something special.  Jacob had obviously touched Richard several times (during the fight for the knife, putting the blanket on him)  but not until Richard asked to live forever did he say "Now that I can do." 

Ok, that's all I have for now.  I am sure I will get many great insights from the briliant attendees of the LOST LUNCH Bunch.

Namaste, Yinz 

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Eight hours to Richard Alpert!

I 'm so excited for tonight I can't think. I checked the TV listings for tonight - and saw that the actor playing the MIB is back...along with Jacob. Wow!!!! So, now being "totally" pumped I checked out Totally Lost at  http://popwatch.ew.com/2010/03/23/totally-lost-recon-sawyer-ab-aeterno/   which I confess I haven't done a lot. Well, it was such fun! (Its in 3 parts so don't shut down after the first one.) It was nice to see Rebecca Mader aka Charlotte as herself chatting about getting to do scenes with Josh Holloway... She gives me my choice for a T-Shirt: Time Travel is a Bitch! I did try to read Doc Jensen's prep for tonight but, sheesh, he just lost me, except for his translation of the episode's title: Ab Aeterno = Since the Beginning. So, if anyone makes it through all his deeply philosophical religious musings and can boil it down into something pithy, do let me know.


So, keep your strength up folks, we are going to need to be alert to-night!!!

Namaste, Yinz.

Monday, March 22, 2010

Now, that's a nice headline before bedtime...

NATIONALS 7, METS 5
  at Viera, Fla.
Monday, March 22 (from NationalsPride.com)

"Ryan Zimmerman and Josh Willingham each hit a pair of home runs today, as the Nationals topped the N.Y. Mets 7-5."

and I like this:  ..."The Nationals improved to 5-13 on the spring, and they have won five of seven games." So it would appear that the whittling down of the Spring Training roster from, I think, a total of 61 to 36 seems to be working out nicely. 

Ah, the hope of Spring.....

Friday, March 19, 2010

Recon 6.8 and My Return to the Lunch Bunch

I am happy to report that your humble servant was able to make a visit to lunch at the Hatch on the Fourth Floor.  Even after a long absence (Patchy needed a lot of attention) I was welcomed with smiles and not a whiff of Smocke in sight. 

We started right off with my idea that Widmore might be working with MIB to get Locke back to the Island.  Clever Melissa pointed out that Widmore didn't know Ben would kill Locke and thus get the body back...  though  I could say -  But what if he DID know? At first I thought she was on to something.  But as I thought about it...  if Ben was being manipulated by the MIB in the cabin, if he really thought the only way to save the Island was to get the Oceanic 6 back no matter what....and if he needed a body in a casket to do it... then...maybe Widmore did know. 

Everyone is SOOOOO excited about next week's episode - Richard Alpert takes center stage and we hope lots of questions will be answered.

Biggest mystery is who or what is in the locked cabin on Widmore's sub.  The ladies at the  Washington Post  blog reported that at the Dark UFO poll, Desmond is winning in a landslide.  He was the popular choice at the lunch...but feel its just wishful thinking.  So, while demanding a reappearance by everyone's favorite Constant, many agree with Doc Jensen that its Faraday's girlfriend, the one whose care Widmore had been supporting all those years after her sad participation in Daniel's experiments.  Hmmm...   I am not convinced.  I feel we don't know enough of Widmore's true purpose. 

Next mystery: who killed all the remaining survivors of Ajira Flt. 316?  MIB got the most votes and considering his recent behavior at the Temple there is not much of an argument against him.

How did Widmore find the Island?  The idea was raised that with the death of Jacob the Island is now visible and stationary.  There must still be something that identifies it...otherwise you are still looking for a small island in a very big ocean.  Methinks that perhaps he had the instruments to "read" the last time jump/electromagnetic wave/whatever the stuff was that Penny had monitored that enabled HER to find the Island several seasons ago.  But then (or more precisely, now) I wonder...what world does Widmore come from, Island (where the Flt 815 Losties roam) or the Sideways world? 

Carol thought the look on Sawyer's face at the very end was pretty evil.  Melissa was hoping that Juliet was Sawyer's blind date. Carol was hoping Charlotte would say something about having chocolate before dinner, ha ha. 

Discussion about why Sawyer, if he was a cop, didn't do anything about Kate at the airport...he clearly saw handcuffs (we think).  The consensus was that not only wasn't it his jurisdiction (like later with Charlie's brother Liam) but mainly, he didn't want people knowing he was in Australia (international terminal) when he had said he was going to Palm Beach.

Sayid - not exactly alive, his behavior is fundamentally changed.  His non-reaction to Claire's attack on Kate was really creepy.  Remember when Hurley asked him if he was a Zombie?  Well, I think he answered NO a bit too soon.

Claire, her behavior is back and forth, from crazy to crying to remorseful to...what?  As Carol put it "that kind of sincerity is hard to fake".... (Kudos for the  homage to the great line by George Burns -look him up, youngsters- "The most important thing is sincerity. If you can fake that you've got it made.")

Phyllis noted that it seemed once one was redeemed in Sideways World it seems you are then redeemed in Island World.   Carol, brought up the theory of Parallel Universe and that it is now accepted science, with talk about membranes...which went way over my head so perhaps she can add a comment on that sometime.  I got back to my suspicions about the importance of The Black Rock, its captain, Magnus Hanso, and that his great grandson, Alvar Hanso funded the Dharma Initiative.  I can't believe there isn't some big connection/reveal coming that will involve Widmore, the Black Rock, and the Hanso family. The mystery to me is how did the First Mate's Journal, which Widmore bought at an auction (see the detailed background on the ship at Lostpedia - link under the Blog links on the left side of my main page) GET OFF THE ISLAND?!?!?  It was put up for sale by the Hanso family...  Have there been other times that the Island was not moving, when it was visible?   I won't go on but I think you see my drift here.

Phyllis' daughter - hi Molly - reminded all of a connection between the Ankh inside the guitar case Hurley delivered to Dogen and the Ankh necklace that Amy (eventual wife of Horace Goodspeed) wore and secretly hid from Horace.  Could it be that there were members of the Dharma Initiative in league with the Others that far back?  Ooooooh.....

More parallels:  Kate in hoody (hoodie?) at end is like Charlie in hoodie when in conspiracy mode on the Island.  Also Ben uses mask on father to save him in Sideways world, wears one himself when he killed his father on the Island. More echoes between the 2 worlds.

Ah, back to Smokey - A question that lingers:  when did Smokey really take over Locke?  The idea has been floated that he was a goner when (waaay back in Season 1, I think) Locke met Smokey in the Jungle and looked up at him with a beatific look on his face.  Many don't buy that but maybe Smokey just saw a promising future host....and kept an eye on him.  But when he was killing and tossing about all those other victims, like Mr. Eko, the Flt 815 Pilot, was he just "interviewing" other candidates for his future body?  Its all still under consideration for me.  As Laura so succinctly put it at one point during our far ranging discusion..."Ah, unh, Huh!?!?!?"   It was one observation we ALL agreed with. 

Last but not least, Phyllis shared with us Doc Jensen's theory of the possible end of the whole thing:

"...My guess is that Sideways Ford will get a chance to prove his moral metal when he finally tracks down Sideways Anthony Cooper at… Sideways John Locke's wedding. "   [!!!]

I think the group was not thrilled with this and hoped the wedding was not the END of the whole series.  Seems a little too soap operamode...  we don't want, indeed fear, an ending like (from TV show Dallas for you youngsters - a very traumatic moment in TV fan history) Pam waking up and Bobby coming out of the shower and it was all a DREAM..or in our case, Jack's dream...Oi, don't even go there.  I do have more faith in the producers that this is not the road they are taking, nor the "it was all the snow globe" from St. Elsewhere's sad finish. 

So, that's all for now.  I do want to again recommend The Watcher blog; see the Links list on the left.

Namaste, Yinz!

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Tidbits

Well, here's some good news from one of my favorite sites TVbytheNumbers.com:  Lost was ABC's highest rated show last week!  http://tvbythenumbers.com/2010/03/16/abcs-leaky-boat-lost-beats-greys-anatomy/45198  Well, well, well.

After I wrote my Dr. Linus piece, I had another thought regarding the Kwon mystery.  My theory is that Jacob is really looking for Sun and Jin's daughter.  Perhaps that is why he went to their wedding and touched BOTH of them!  

Yes, I did slog through Doc Jensens mammoth treatise on the Third World theory
http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20313460_20351909_2,00.html and I think...and I emphasize THINK as I am in no way sure I understood about 50% of what he said... we are on the same wavelength.  A frightening prospect, I know.  I have felt for a while that some manner of another possibility was hovering just beyond the horizon.  As best as I can articulate my thought is that the choices the characters will make will somehow fuse into a not yet seen reality (timeline, world, whatever) to come.  There are so many echoes and whispers between the Island World and the Sideways World now...  I just don't, can't, OK, won't believe they aren't connected. 

And, oh joy, The Nationals just won TWO, yes TWO Spring Training games!  In one day.  Whew, no longer the only losing streak.  And the sun was out today.  :-)

So, that's it. 

Namaste, Yinz!

(what is Yinz?  Check out the links under Pittsburgh!)

Monday, March 15, 2010

Dr. Linus Revisited

I got to watch the episode again last night and was even more blown away.  I think the scene between Ilana and Ben is gripping and very key.  What did Ben mean when he said to her "I know what you're feeling?"  That he, too, thought of Jacob as a Father?  But for Ben he must not only deal with having killed him, but  - according to what Miles reported -  knowing that Jacob did indeed care about him and "hoped until the last second he was wrong" about Ben.  But I couldn't help wonder...  does he also recognize another damaged soul in Ilana?  Another wounded child who had to replace a parent with a, sometimes at least,  phantom presence?   The power of Ben's heart wrenching confession is only out-done by Ilana's granting of forgiveness: "I'll have you."  Watch his face, his walk back to camp.  He has been totally shattered and the process of rebuilding is beginning.  Now, take a look at Dr. Linus coming out of the Principal's office after he has sacrificed his power grab for Alex's shot at Yale...though not as pronounced (nor as life and death) as the Island scene, there is a haunting similarity of look on Ben's face.  It passes quickly, he knows he made the right choice and quickly offers up his parking space to Arzt. 

One of the many things that I wonder about is the idea that it was never Jacob in communication with Ben - it was MIB/Smoke trapped in the Cabin.  If so why would Jacob allow that to happen?  Was he hoping Ben would figure it out?  Where was Richard in all this?  If he was "made" by Jacob wouldn't he have known that the entity in the Cabin wasn't "good"?    I guess we don't know enough about Island Management Protocols and I hope we will get more insight now that Richard is with the LOSTIES on the Beach.   

Now, before I forget this deep thought again - so much going on in my head, you know - I will toss this out: What if the Kwon that is on Jacob's list of potential Candidates is neither Jin nor Sun, but.... Ji Yeon, their daughter?????   The child who only exists because her parents - one of whom was infertile - came to the Island and, like Rose and Locke, was healed.  Just think, maybe this has all been to get her and Aaron together....  OK, I don't want to go off on a Doc Jensen like speculative journey, but its hard for me to believe that little Kwon doesn't have some significance.  Not the least of which is she wouldn't exist if Oceanic Flt 815 hadn't crashed!!!!    Which reveals (again) that I don't think all is better is Sideways land.

Doc Jensen mentioned in his recap a thought that Jack might take on the MIB role while Ben, now on the road to redemption, could be the next Jacob (I don't remember Jacob touching Ben so if someone can educate moi it would be greatly appreciated.) That opens some very interesting possibilities, not the least of which is the the Leader/Protector of the Island is someone who has found redemption and the MIB is someone who hasn't and must be - hopefully - kept from returning to the outside world.  I would put my money on Jack as being the new MIB, he was, after all, once the one who couldn't wait to get off the island, would even set off a nuclear bomb to make it happen.  But then, he seems to have come through a crisis of his own, so I reserve judgement.  Besides....   I am still waiting to see where Sawyer has been all this time and if, as I believe, he never really bought Smocke's line but is just conning him.  He's my choice for Island protector; with Hurley or Ben as his Richard Alpert. 

Now for something completely different.  I mentioned in an earlier post that Kevin Durand who played "Martin Keamy" would be in the new Russell Crowe/Ridley Scott version of Robin Hood coming out in May.  Well if you go to http://www.firstshowing.net/2010/03/10/must-watch-epic-final-full-length-trailer-for-robin-hood/#ixzz0ht4JZnZo and watch the fabulous trailer and keep a sharp lookout you will see him.

Well, I could discuss industrialization and men's fashion  - and LOST - all day but work must intrude. (ah, the classics!) so let me say,

Namaste!

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Dr. Linus, 6.7 First Thought

Wow!!!!  What an episode, what a way to show that LOST hasn't, well, lost a step this season.  Michael Emerson once again delivers a brilliant, riveting performance, Miles and Hurley keep us laughing (did you catch the diamond?) and Richard finally gets to lift the veil a bit. Oh that ending, yes I was tearing up.  I have to get to bed now but this will require some time to mull and digest and watch again.  A thought that is brewing:  redemption in one reality did tie to it in the other...realization and redemption. 

And that sub!?!?!   Yikes creepy much?  Sure didn't see that coming.  I thought for a moment Desmond or Smocke was in it...  no, just Big Daddy Widmore.  Oi. Just what they need.

In the meantime here is a little tidbit: The actor, Kevin Durand, who played evil Martin Keamy last season and in last week's episode, is a friend of Russell Crowe  from when they were both in the film Mystery, Alaska. He will be playing Little John in the new Robin Hood film.  Believe it or not, as evil and menacing as he was on LOST, he was a sweet gentle giant in M,A.

Good night, sweet dreams and Namaste!

Tidbits LOST, Baseball, Spring

Fans of the Island's Man of Mystery, Richard Alpert, might want to check out his interview at http://www.tvguide.com/News/Getting-Lost-Richards-1015701.aspx  in which the actor gives a look at the upcoming (March 23rd?)  Richard centric episode.  He gave the title which is in latin and I didn't quite catch but means "From Eternity".  

One of the highlights of the recent Oscars was the win by Michael Giacchino for Best Original Score for the animated film UP  - very well deserved.  He is also the composer for LOST!   UP is a wonderful film that I can't recommend highly enough, I'm so glad it also won for Best Animated Film. 

Spring seems to finally be more than wishful thinking.  First there is the sunshine, the temp going up to the high 50's and of course, most important SPRING TRAINING HAS BEGUN!!!  Joy Joy Joy, I can turn on TV - ok, the MLB Network, and see actual fields of green, bats, gloves and players doing their thing.  Bliss.  Hey, when everyone is in first place, hope is everywhere.  The upcoming Oscar show got MLB Network to think of the best Baseball Movies.  Several have garnered  nominations, with Pride of the Yankees (1942) leading the pack at 11.  The Natural (1984) got 4, Bull Durham (1988) and Bang the Drum Slowly (1973) got 1 each, and Field of Dreams (1989) got 3.  Other great Baseball films are Eight Men Out (1988),  and one of my favorites, Major League.  You could make a great double bill with Eight Men Out, John Sayles telling of the infamous Black Sox Scandal of 1919, followed by Field of Dreams, the film version of William Kinsella's magical novel in which the Black Sox's Shoeless Joe Jackson is a central figure.  For me its a hard pick for best all time baseball movie between Field of Dreams and Bull Durham. The first calls up the emotional love of the game, its history, its call across generations; the second film perfectly captures the obsession of fans and the humanity of the players.  I never see a conference at the pitcher's mound without wondering if they are really talking about where they are going for dinner later.... 

For more information on these films go to the link for Internet Movie Database - the link is under Movies on the left.

So, as we await tonight's episode with baited breath, dread and yes, excitement...

Namaste and Go Nats!

Friday, March 5, 2010

Sundown

Sorry to say that real life (what a concept) concerns have kept me occupied this week so I have to be brief for now. 

Over all I found the episode very creepy. In fact, for once I dread watching it again  -  I usually can't wait to go over the shows and watch for clues.

My Questions are: A) Where are Sawyer and Jin? I thought Jin was leading Claire into the Temple? But she seemed to come in the front door like everyone else does.  B)What was the condition of the Pool? If the water was clear maybe Dogen and Lennon aren't as dead as you might think.  C) I lost track of some of the Temple folk, so wasn't sure who was the gang outside at the end.  But I hope Kate has her guard up and her best "on the lam" antenna up and ready. 

Of course, another big question is what are Jack and Hurley up to while all this is going on?  Is Jack still staring out to sea?  I did read somewhere that this season is broken up into 3 acts and that this episode was the end of Act I...if so, what a way to bring down a curtain.  Let's all run to the lobby for a shot of Scotland's finest before we return to our seats...after checking for smoke remnants, of course.

Enjoy the signs of spring that are coming...I saw sun yesterday...whoo hoo!

Namaste