Well, three cheers to Melissa - her Constant has returned! See, it wasn't too good to be true that Desmond was the "?" in the locked room on Widmore's sub. But, those previews for next week were more than just a tad ominous. I mean, "Amazing Grace" playing on bagpipes...seeing Desmond's face briefly while the voice of Charles Widmore repeats Mrs. Hawkings infamous "the Island isn't done with you, yet." Yikes!!!!! could HE be the new Jacob?
This was another extraordinary show. Broken record, but I have to call 'em like I see 'em. Loved the scene in Ilana's camp just as Richard returns; one great character moment after another, Lapidus, Miles, Ben, Hurley.
Yeah, Patchy was back and boy does he clean up nice! Indiana Jones said it best: It's not the years, honey, it's the mileage. And I love a man with milelage. Sorry to see him come to such a bad end... well, I thought he was dead but it was suggested I am wrong...and on a second viewing I realized that even Keamy wasn't dead at the end of the scene in the restaurant kitchen, so who knows. Interesting that a pro like Sayid didn't check on that.
Interesting to watch Smocke try to be nice to Sun...loved that she would have none of it. His faux reasoning that because he gave the people at the Temple the choice: "I didn't want to kill them, any one of them could have chosen to come with me..." So it's not his fault...he's not bad... Oh, Pa-Leeze. But I do wonder, once Sun was knocked out why he didn't just take her away? Does choice, free will, play a role in his escape? But how is it truly free will with all his deceptions?
Now, with so many people playing each other I have no idea who to trust, who is on the side of "good" or who knows what. Smocke tells Sawyer he's going to Hydra to rescue Jin because they took one of his people...like he would care if it wasn't one of the Names on the Wall. The little exchange Smocke about the locked room on the Sub with Sawyer on his return (sans Sayid) from Hydra sent a little chill up my spine..and Sawyer's too, I think. Smocke confirms that Sawyer said he was never shown what was in it (true, right?) yet he says "I don't like secrets"... and I wonder, did Widmore show him? Nah, can't be. Did Widmore tell him that he told Sawyer? Why would he, just to stir the pot in Smocke camp? Sawyer really thought Widmore would kill Smocke and if he didn't "we're screwed 6 ways to Sunday". Oh, and why did Smocke ask Sayid if he could swim? They were going to Hydra via an outrigger...so he knew Sayid was going to have to spend some quality time in the water...watching... so again, what did he know? Does he know what it is about Desmond that can defeat him?
And don't even get me started on the Claire/Kate Smackdown to come. Smocke has been doing such a dance with them...but the looks Clair keeps sending his way makes me wonder, just a bit, if she is crazy enough to see right through him. Even he might not fair so well if her wrath is unleashed on him.
OK, its late and I have to go...but I want to state that this show just made me more convinced that Ji Yeon is a key, that she may be THE Kwon. She was meant to be born on the Island...
Namaste, Yinz
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment